Amicus Productions

Hammer's rival horror studios

Amicus Productions were based at Shepperton Studios, and made horror films in the UK during the '60s and '70s. Company head Milton Subotsky was particularly fond of 'portmanteau' films, consisting of three or four distinct stories linked by a common thread. The first such film was Dr Terror's House of Horrors in 1965, and it continued in the same vein with 1967's Torture Garden, The House That Dripped Blood (1970) and Asylum (1972), among others. In contrast to Hammer films, they tended to have contemporary settings, rather than being period pieces, although they often featured Hammeresque gothic touches. They shared many of the same actors and directors as Hammer, including Peter Cushing, Christopher Lee, Freddie Francis and Roy Ward Baker.


Dr Terror's House of Horrors (1965)
Dr Who and the Daleks (1965, as AARU Productions)
The Skull (1965)
Daleks' Invasion Earth: 2150 AD (1966, again as AARU)
Torture Garden (1967)
The House That Dripped Blood (1970)
I, Monster (1971, an adaptation of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde)
Asylum (1972)
Tales from the Crypt (1972)
From Beyond the Grave (1973)
And Now the Screaming Starts (1973)
The Beast Must Die (1974)
Madhouse (1974)
At the Earth's Core (1976)
The Monster Club (1980)





David L Rattigan 2005





This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.